Day: May 21, 2019

Books For You | Om the Gnome is a must-read for everyone

Editor | Spirituality Teaching children through bedtime stories is a tradition that has become extinct. Trishla Jain, about this unique concept of teaching children through bedtime stories, said: “As my children were growing older and I was reading to them every night I realised there were so many things I wanted to teach them about

Essential Reads | A Human’s Guide To Machine Intelligence

Editor | Technology Through the technology embedded in almost every major tech platform and every web-enabled device, algorithms and the artificial intelligence that underlies them make a staggering number of everyday decisions for us, from how we purchase products (Amazon’s “People who bought this also bought”), select movies to watch (Netflix’s recommendations), to whom we

Enter the loving, giving world of Mahadev

Editor | Religion A little girl asks who Shiva is and it is the beginning of a family journey through stories and incidents across the expanse of Shivbhumi-all the way from the mystical Mount Kailash to the fabled Ocean of Milk and the netherworld. Story after story from across India takes us closer to this

Books For You | Guy Kawasaki offers lessons from his life

Editor | Technology Guy Kawasaki has been a fixture in the tech world since he was part of Apple’s original Macintosh team in the 1980s. He’s widely respected as a source of wisdom about entrepreneurship, venture capital, marketing, and business evangelism, which he’s shared in bestselling books such as The Art of the Startand Enchantment.

Penguin launches The Penguin Ray Library

By A Correspondent New Delhi: Penguin Random House has tied up with the Society for the Preservation of Satyajit Ray Archives (Satyajit Ray Society) and the legal estate of the Ray Family to publish five previously unpublished titles by Satyajit Ray, under the aegis of The Penguin Ray Library from 2020 onwards. These works consists

Books For You | Astra, The Quest for Starsong

Editor | Children’s Books Astra, The Quest for Starsong, is an epic fantasy with the rich tapestry of Indian mythology for kids and young adults alike. A new adventure for fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson who seek action, adventure, magic. The world should burn . . . burn like a star! The balance

Books For You | The Magic Weight Loss Pill

Editor | Wellness What’s the one remedy common to controlling diabetes, hyperthyroidism, kidney and liver stones and excess weight? Lifestyle. Luke Coutinho, co-author of The Great Indian Diet, shows us that nothing parallels the power and impact that simple sustained lifestyle changes can have on a person who’s struggling to lose excess weight or suffering