Books For You | Astra, The Quest for Starsong

Editor | Children’s Books
Astra, The Quest for Starsong, is an epic fantasy with the rich tapestry of Indian mythology for kids and young adults alike.
A new adventure for fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson who seek action, adventure, magic.
The world should burn . . . burn like a star!
The balance of the world is askew.
The winds speak of a terror from the south. Ravana, the Lord of Lanka, is on the march. Seers whisper that he has awakened Starsong, a mythical astra of the gods. And that he thirsts for this weapon that will make him invincible.

But there is one thing that he hasn’t considered. Up high in the glistening tower of the city of Ulka is a boy, held captive.
Today is the day Varkan, the young prince of Ashmaka, will taste freedom. Today is the day he will lay claim to his destiny as the wielder of Starsong.
And along the way, perhaps he will change the destiny of the world itself.
Authors Aditya Mukherjee and Arnav Mukherjee told Arrackistan: “We wanted to bring the kind of magical experience Harry Potter or Narnia has to Indian audience. Growing up we were fascinated by the world of Indian mythology that we glimpsed through the epics and the various comics and cartoons around it. But we always wanted the stories to go beyond the epics, to have new characters and adventures. Since it was the world shown in these stories that we wanted to explore, that’s what we have done with Astra.”
The story runs parallel to Ramayana, interweaving the events of the epic, but it brings to life all new characters that children can relate to.
Readers can embark on a fantastic adventure with them through a world of myth and legend as they desperately try to keep the legendary celestial weapons, ASTRAS, out of the hands of Ravana’s armies.

About the authors
Arnav Mukherjee has lived in six countries, designed games, built educational products, appeared on Japanese TV and tried every weird food imaginable. A graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and UWC Mahindra College, India, he is a big fan of life, commas and curiously oversized sandwiches.
An IIM (Indian Institute of Management), SMU (Singapore Management University) and NTU (Nanyang Technological University) alumnus, Aditya Mukherjee suffers from a weakness for three-letter institutions. Having worked in strategy consulting for a while, he knows the answer to every problem on earth apart from the vast majority of them. He lives in Gurgaon with his wife, child and copious amounts of coffee.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *