Books For You | The Gollancz Book of South Asian Science Fiction

Editor | Science Fiction

On an ordinary morning, the citizens of Karachi wake up to find the sea missing from their shores. The last Parsi left on Earth must find other worlds to escape to when debt collectors come knocking. A family visiting a Partition-themed park gets more entertainment than they bargained for. Gandhi appears in contemporary times under rather unusual circumstances. The arrival of aliens with an agenda on a railway station in Uttar Pradesh has unexpected consequences. A group of young scientists seek a way to communicate with forests even as the web of life reaches a point of collapse. A young girl’s personal tragedy finds a surprising resolution as she readies herself for an expedition of a lifetime.

These and other tales of masterful imagination illuminate this essential volume of new science fiction writing that brings together some of the most creative minds in contemporary literature. A must-have collectible, The Gollancz Book of South Asian Science Fiction offers fresh perspectives on our hyper-global, often alienating and always paranoid world, in which humanity and love may yet triumph.

Price- Rs. 599/- Hardback

About the editor: Tarun K. Saint is an independent scholar and writer born in Kenya, and has lived in India since 1972. His research interests include the literature of the Partition and science fiction. He is the author of Witnessing Partition: Memory, History, Fiction (2010), has edited Bruised Memories: Communal Violence and the Writer (2002) and co-edited Translating Partition: Essays, Stories, Criticism (2001) with Ravi Kant. His most recent co-edited volume is Looking Back: The 1947 Partition of India, 70 Years On (2017), a collaboration with Rakhshanda Jalil and Debjani Sengupta.

Featuring the works of: *Adrish Bardhan *Anil Menon * Arjun Rajendran * Arunava Sinha * Asif Farrukhi * C.M. Naim * Chandrashekhar Sastry * Clark Prasad * Giti Chandra * Harishankar Parsai  *Kaiser Haq *Keki N. Daruwalla *Manjula Padmanabhan * Maya Joshi *Mimi Mondal * Mohammad Salman * Muhammed Zafar Iqbal *Nur Nasreen Ibrahim * Payal Dhar * Premendra Mitra *Priya Sarukkai Chabria *Rahul Sankrityayan * Rimi B. Chatterjee * Rukmini Bhaya Nair * S.B. Divya * Sami Ahmad Khan *Shovon Chowdhury *Somendra Singh Kharola * Sumita Sharma * Syed Saeed Naqvi * Tarun K. Saint * Vandana Singh

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *